RENKEI is the Japanese word for “collaboration” and in this context also stands for Research and Education Network for Knowledge Economy Initiatives.

The participating universities in RENKEI are forming pilot projects for collaboration in three main areas: technology and knowledge exchange with industry, student mobility, and universities’ social engagement. Among the pilot projects are summer schools for postgraduates and early career researchers, and a bilateral skills development programme for PhD students.

The following is a list of the twelve universities which have been involved in the formation of this new scheme.

University of Bristol
University of Leeds
University of Liverpool
Newcastle University
University of Southampton
UCL (University College London)

Kyoto University
Kyushu University
Nagoya University
Osaka University
Ritsumeikan University
Tohoku University